Home   Locations Glossary
 
 
 
 
 
 
Traffic Court
 
 

Cases Involving Driving and Vehicular Laws
 
       
 

 

 

Traffic cases involve violations of the California Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV) code. There are three general types of violations:

  • Parking Tickets. These are not reported to the court, but the ticket contains instructions to be followed including what to pay, who to pay, how to pay, etc.
  • Traffic Infractions and Misdemeanors: most of these cases are heard at the Traffic Division, those offenses that occur in Eastern Madera County are heard at the Sierra Division.
  • Felony Violations: these cases are heard in the Main Courthouse in Madera and at the Sierra Division for offenses that occur in Eastern Madera County.

More information about traffic violations can be found in the traffic section of the California Self-Help website.

HOURS

Normal window hours are: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

FEES

The fees and fines imposed in these divisions are according to statute.

Making A Payment

Madera Superior Court uses the Franchise Tax Board and GC Services as their collection agencies. If your matter has been referred to GC Services for collections, all payments should be made to GC Services so that proper credit can be given to your account. You may contact the GC Services representative at (800) 333-8395 for service in English and (800) 616-6007 for service in Spanish.

LOCAL PROCEDURES

The typical case follows these steps:

  1. A ticket or citation for a traffic infraction is written by a law enforcement officer.
  2. The ticket explains whether a (a) dollar fine or (b) other action is required, and whether the recipient must appear in court.
  3. The Court will send the Defendant a courtesy notice stating the various options available and the date that he/she is to appear in Court if the Defendant chooses to contest the matter.
  4. If the Defendant would like to not contest the matter and pay the fine, they would submit payment as specified on their courtesy notice.
  5. If the Defendant is eligible for traffic school (if you are, it will be one of the options available to you on your courtesy notice), it will be the amount of the fine plus $74.00 for the traffic school fee. The traffic school will charge you an additional fee to attend the class. The certificate of completion must be returned to the court within 90 days. Failure to do so will result in a Conviction being reported to DMV as opposed to Traffic School Completion.
  6. If the Defendant would like to contest the matter, the Defendant is to pay the amount of the proposed fine to the Court. This money is then placed in trust. If the Defendant is acquitted, the money is returned to the Defendant by the Court. If the Defendant is convicted, the money is applied to the court ordered fine.
  7. If the Defendant fails to pay a fine after the Court has ordered him/or her to do so, the case may be referred to the Franchise Tax Board for collections. If the matter is referred to collections and is accepted, a civil assessment fee of $300.00 will be added.

 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION – PLEASE READ CAREFULLY

 

GENERAL INFORMATION

  1. All payments and proof of corrections on this case must be submitted together in order to close the case.
  2. Partial payments may be accepted upon request and will be assessed a $35.00 administrative fee.
  3. Forfeiting bail will close your case and it will be reported to DMV as a conviction. If you are forfeiting bail, please do not send cash. If you forfeit bail, you are no longer eligible for traffic school.

PRIOR CONVICTIONS

  1. If you have been convicted of any traffic violations in the past three years, a penalty enhancement may be imposed pursuant to VC4200 and VC40508.6.

PROOF OF CORRECTION

To dismiss a violation where proof of correction is required you must:

  1. Correct the violation.
  2. Take the corrected item along with your copy of the citation to a law enforcement agency or DMV and have a copy of the citation signed off by an authorized agent of the department.
  3. Bring or mail your copy of the signed off citation along with the fees indicated on the front of this letter.

MAILING THE REMITTANCE

  1. Please make checks or money orders payable to: Madera County Superior Court.
  2. Mail to Madera County Superior Court at the division you received your courtesy notice from.

TRAFFIC SCHOOL

You may attend traffic school on this case if the following apply:

  1. If the offense did not occur within 18 months of a pervious violation for which you have attended traffic school.
  2. If the traffic violation does not carry more than one point under VC 12810 or one and one-half point under VC 12810.5(b)(2).
  3. Is not related to alcohol or drug use or possession.
  4. Is not a violation of VC 22406.5 (tank vehicles).
  5. You have a valid driver’s license.

If you meet the above guidelines for traffic school, you may send one check for the total bail amount plus $74.00 traffic violator school fee. (Pursuant to 42007(a) VC) The traffic school you attend will also charge an attendance fee. If you fail or choose not to attend traffic school by the completion date, all fees and bail will be forfeited, your case closed and reported to DMV as a conviction.

Once payment is received by the Court, you have 90 days to remit a traffic school completion certificate to the Court.

Traffic School fees are non-refundable.

NOTICE: If you are eligible for traffic school and decide not to attend traffic school, your automobile insurance may be adversely affected.

 

TRAFFIC SCHOOLS

IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY TO RETURN YOUR CERTIFICATE TO THE COURT ON OR BEFORE YOUR DUE DATE.

This Court will accept online certificates from the courses approved and monitored by the California Traffic Safety Institute. When calling for information, be sure to have your case number, court name, and due date available.

Classroom Traffic Schools: http://www.dmv.ca.gov/olinq2/welcome.do

Home Study Traffic Schools: www.ctsi-courtnetwork.org

On-line programs are offered to the defendants as an option to traffic school. Please be advised that the home study programs require identity verification in order to complete the course. These programs are not regulated by the Department of Motor Vehicles and/or the Court. The Court recognizes these programs for use but assumes no liability for the schools' actions.

Effective 01/01/2007

 


   
 
 
     
         
     



 
 

© 2004 - Superior Court of California     Our Privacy Policy