
     
 
 

 
 
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: 
 

Friday, June 19, 2020 
 

MEDIA CONTACT 
Name:  Adrienne Y. Calip, Court Executive Officer 
Madera County Superior Court 
Email address:  adrienne.calip@madera.courts.ca.gov 
 
 

Press Release Addressing: 
 

1) June 10, 2020 Statewide Order issued by the Honorable Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye, 
Chief Justice of California and Chair of the Judicial Council reinstating the 48-
hour provision outlined in Penal Code Section 825, effective June 20, 2020. 
 

2) June 10, 2020 Circulating Order CO-20-11 of the Judicial Council of California to 
repeal Emergency Rule 4 (Emergency Bail Schedule), effective June 20, 2020. 

 
3) Madera County Superior Court’s addition of a 9:30 a.m. Criminal Calendar, 

effective July 1, 2020. 
 

4) Madera County Superior Court’s reinstitution of Fax Filing Fees, effective 
immediately. 

 
5) Madera County Superior Court’s implementation of Governor Newsom’s June 

18, 2020 statewide mask/face covering order, effective immediately. 
 
The purpose of this press release is to provide an update on the five (5) items referenced 
above.  The following outlines each item in detail: 
 

1. On June 10, 2020, Chief Justice Cantil-Sakauye issued a Statewide Order 
confirming that her authority to extend the 48-hour provision outlined in Penal 
Code section 825 to not more than seven (7) days is rescinded, effective June 
20, 2020.   
 
The rescission impacts those defendants charged with a felony offense who are 
arrested on or after June 20, 2020. 
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The statewide authority to extend the 48-hour provision outlined in Penal Code 
section 825 to not more than seven (7) days will remain in effect for those 
defendants charged with a felony offense who are arrested on or before June 19, 
2020. 

 
 

2. On June 10, 2020, the Judicial Council of California approved Circulating 
Order CO-20-11 repealing emergency rule 4, which is related to the COVID-19 
Emergency Bail Schedule, effective June 20, 2020. 
 

Upon the repeal of the Emergency Bail Schedule, Madera County will adopt a 
revised countywide bail schedule that will become effective on June 20, 2020 (see 
attached).   
 

Bail is not required to be reset for any person whose bail was set in accordance with 
the COVID-19 Emergency Bail Schedule. 

 
 

3. Effective July 1, 2020, the Criminal Division of the Madera County Superior 
Court will add a 9:30 a.m. calendar to assist with operational efficiencies. 

 

Please refer to the Court’s press release dated May 27, 2020 for additional 
information related to division calendars. 
 
 

4. Effective immediately, all facsimile fees previously waived will be reinstated. 
 
 

5. Effective immediately, all court visitors, justice partners and court employees 
will be required to wear masks/face coverings pursuant to Governor 
Newsom’s June 18, 2020 Order, with official guidance provided by the 
California Department of Public Health. 
 
All persons entering the Madera County Superior Court will be required to adhere to 
the Governor’s Order and wear masks/face coverings as outlined in the link below:      
 
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/OPA/Pages/NR20-128.aspx  
 

 

In addition, to continuously adhere to the directives of State and local public health 
officials, the following points, recommendations and directives should be considered: 
 

• For designated court appearances, video conferencing will be utilized, and only 
authorized participants will receive an invite from court personnel.  For court 
appearances not specifically designated for video conferencing, attorneys and 
litigants are strongly encouraged to utilize Court Call in all case types. 

 

• Persons conducting business in the courthouse or appearing in a courtroom must 
maintain at least six feet of distance between themselves and other persons. 
 

• The court requests that no one who is ill with symptoms of COVID-19 appear at the 
courthouse.  All persons desiring entry into the courthouse will be asked health 
screening questions, and those appearing must allow appropriate space between 
themselves and others when waiting in lines and that they not crowd elevators or 
other confined areas. 
 

https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/OPA/Pages/NR20-128.aspx


• Court users and visitors will be asked to wait in hallways, outside courtrooms or 
other designated areas to help maintain the appropriate social distancing 
requirement. 

 

• Attorneys and litigants are reminded of the responsibility to keep contact information 
(including addresses and telephone numbers) current with the court.  Hearing 
status, which is subject to change, should be regularly checked at the following site: 
https://madera-prod-portal.ecourt.com/public-portal/?q=node/393 

  
• To reiterate:  those who are ill, including attorneys, litigants, justice partners and 

court staff should remain at home.  If you have a matter on calendar or if entry is not 
granted based on responses to the health screening questions, you should contact 
the court and advise that you will not be appearing due to illness or the potential 
exposure to illness. 

 

Refer to the Court’s May 27, 2020 press release for the measures taken to ensure 
the health and safety of court users, jurors, justice partners and court employees.  
[Note that any reference to the use, encouragement or request of face masks in the 
May 27, 2020 is superseded by the Governor’s June 18, 2020 order.]  
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